Montag, 1. November 2010

An old hero

I just listen to newly released CDs, Bob Dylan's "Witmark Demos". For me, it's precious historic and nostalgic stuff, but nothing that would change me, today. Too late. Time marches on.
.
But, if I would play these two CDs to my son, to show him what I was listening in my younger years? I suppose, listening to 47 years old music is for him... er, ...as if I - in my teenager years - would have listened to Ragtime music from the First World War. The time distance is the same.
.
Was bleibt? Nostalgia.

... comment

 
***Time marches on***

Times they are a-changing :-)

... link  

 
Bob Dylan is still an active artist releasing new records. So it is not merely a matter of nostalgia. In Germany he is often reduced to some kind of political protest singer of the sixties, but I doubt he ever was. He is mainly a poet and songwriter - and a rather good one.

... link  

 
Markus, the short text is only about his recordings from 46 to 48 years ago, released today. And what is means today, to me, to my son.
.
Besides nostalgia, "Masters of War" is still & today an important and true song to me. Also some other older titles.

... link  

 
Yes, I think good poetry may hint at some time specific circumstances but it also must have a general timeless significance which future generations can appreciate as well.
Otherwise we would not enjoy reading works from the 19th or 18th century. Or in the field of music, generally noone complains that Bach's works are 300 years old. It's obvious that they come from a certain epoch but there's more about them than that. With most pop music, I'm not so sure. Listening to hits from the sixties and seventies is really more some kind of nostalgia for many people, remembering their youth and so on. But I think (for example) some Beatles tracks such as Strawberry Fields or Walrus could stand the test of time. At least I would be glad if they could.

... link  

 
I agree again, except for the selection of the two Beatles songs. In my opinion there are many "better" Beatles songs. Sorry.
.
It's also interesting to look into the past and realize how long (or better: short) a certain music was lasting. For example, how fast Father Bach & his work was forgotten (and just because of Mendelssohn and the Berliner Sing-Akademie...).
.
In comparision to other styles & fashions, rock or pop music as we know it today, is existing already pretty long.

... link  

 
Yes Mendelssohn rediscovered Bach so to speak, at least in the German part of Europe. But that's also almost two centuries ago now. And since then, Bach has been going quite strong.
Yes, pop music is going on. But "pop" is more or less a very broad term which means almost nothing. What interests me is individual artists and composers, be it "pop" or "jazz" or whatever and whether they contribute something of lasting value to the history of music.

Certainly the Beatles made a lot of very nice songs, so it's not so easy to pick the best ones, which is, of course, also a matter of personal taste and interests. But when in another forum someone asked "What are your favourite five Beatles tracks?" I selected the following ones:

I am the Walrus
Strawberry Fields Forever
A Day in the Life
Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds
Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite

... link  

 
I would choose five others, but I don't say which ones.

... link  

 
Why not? Sir Paul wouldn't be offended I think.

... link  

 
To discuss with (sorry:) strangers, which is the "better" pop song?
I fear that "I'm too old for that shit".
But indeed, I did such a list once, but not only with the Beatles.

... link  

 
Sure such lists mostly based on personal taste don't say anything about the quality of the music.
But they often say a lot about the person who made them, so it interests me sometimes.
For example when I read in your list which Bach and Beethoven interpretations you chose, it's quite obvious for me that you listened to and compared more classical recordings than the average listener.

... link  


... comment