Montag, 17. Juli 2023

Sex & Drugs & Rock'n'Roll (or: What only matters)

In the very early seventies I was tourmanager with a variety of Jazz and Rock artists and groups. A few months after a two weeks tour in Germany with a famous British rock group, I visited the group's leader and singer singer in London, and later he visited me in Berlin. From our conversations I remember an interesting topic. He mentioned that he only makes music because of the girls. I never had different impressions. Later I heard this truism often from musicians, be it in a jolly mood, or seriously. And yesterday night I was reading again some of Victor Auburtin's (1870-1928) feuilletons, this one is from the year 1909:

"He could eat and drink, and in the evening he could take a Syrian girl to bed with, or an Armenian, or a Greek, as it was the will. And this, in the cold light of day (= bei Licht betrachtet), is the main issue, this is what only matters, solely."
.
Dire Straits:
"Money for nothing / and the chicks for free"