Dienstag, 26. März 2019

From "The KS Circle" # 233 ... (Nostalgic recollection, pt. 10)

The Rhythm

From time to time I listen to some electronic music on the radio, I mean a music which is especially announced and introduced as today's "Electronic Music" in a special radio programme, and what do I hear, mostly? Generally from Germans? Always a very simple rhythm. Everytime. All tracks. Consistently just the stupid boom boom. Still in 2016.
Of the three essential parts that makes music: Melody, rhythm and harmony, the rhythm seems to me the easiest. Also the easiest to compute. But not even this they can handle in a way that brings some joy to the listener's ears and brain. Some of these musicians (or should I say home computer players?) still copy KS, which is okay; many of them have learned (consciously or not) from KS, which is also very much okay. But have they not listened to Klaus' often "tricky" rhythm? Or to any other rhythm that is a bit more advanced and interesting, more than what they offer to our ears? Take, for instance: Klaus' "Are You Sequenced?" or Olatunji's "Drums of Passion", or Santana... Even the 4/4 swing of the Count Basie rhythm section in 1938 was something they could learn a lot from (Freddie Green, Walter Page, Jo Jones).
Is it just too difficult for them to produce? Are they not able to create an appealing rhythm? Or are they satisfied with the simplicity (sometimes: stupidity) they offer, again and again, and only? And sometimes I also wonder about the radio journalist who presents these musicians and their titles; doesn't he realise the poorness of at least their rhythm?(Richard 'Myknee' Jones)

.
Oder, wie Teddy Hecht zu "Techno" meint: »Früher hieß sowas 'Marschmusik'.«
.

... comment

 
Apropos good and interesting rhythm: listen to Schulze's ARE YOU SEQUENCED?, and MIRAGE.
PS: Oh, I see, ARE YOU SEQ... is mentioned in the article.

... link  


... comment
 
From the VERY FIRST issue:

The KS Circle Issue No.1, August 1995

Bonjour, Hello, Guten Tag.

This is the first official newsletter about the topic: Klaus Schulze and his music. The KS Circle will avoid any rumours about Klaus. And, instead of doing a chic lay-out I print simple facts. My job, my interest, my life is tightly bound with Klaus Schulze. Already 15 years ago he said in an interview about our co-operation: "We set up this thing together. We met once and shook hands; we never needed a contract." (And this should end all gossip of me being his "manager").

Some of the writing in this first newsletter may look familar to some of you, because I did sent prototype newsletters before to a few fans, friends and journalists; for free, and at random. But because there are many new members in The KS Circle, I print most of these news here again. Many great things did happen with Klaus Schulze in the last few months, and you all should know about them.

Essentially I'll report about new recordings by Klaus, and about coming concerts. Moreover, I will quote from important articles and interviews. Further, I will explain some problems (if they occur) of the record or music métier. Maybe I will jump into the past and tell some facts or happenings from the early career of Klaus. In addition, you are invited to write articles for The KS Circle. If your writing contains a new view or a critical standpoint that is worth to discuss, I'll print it. If you're looking for a certain KS album, or if you want to swap recordings, I give you the free space here to announce it. If you know of a good source to buy CDs, tell me, I'll print it. If you have questions that are of general interest, I print them (and the answers, of course). If you have suggestions how The KS Circle and its newsletter should look like, don't hesitate to write and tell me.
If I use sometimes the German language, this is only meant for the German readers. In general I try to use the English language, 'cause I don't speak much Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Dutch, French, Greek, and: most of the readers (61%) don't understand German.

... link  


... comment
 
"...just too difficult for them to produce?"
.
Yep! Gut erkannt. "Kunst ist schön, macht aber viel Arbeit."

... link  


... comment